8 comments on “The Alamo on the Big Screen: 1960 vs 2004

  1. I read this whole article and really enjoyed it. I’m a big fan of the Alamo, and prefer Hancock’s version myself, mostly on the strength of Thorton’s portrayal of Crockett.

  2. Nice review and comparison. I’m much in agreement with you. I find John Wayne’s version very enjoyable despite knowing how inaccurate it is. I really liked Thorton’s Crockett, though. The irony of someone dying to preserve their own legend is pretty intense when you consider it.

    I have both on DVD and watch each of them once or twice a year, usually close together. They complement each other quite well.

    I’ve been an Alamo buff most of my life, since I first visited the Alamo when I was about five years old. After the 2004 movie I decided to build an Alamo diorama. I put it on a web site http://dracoarcana.com/.

  3. What an excellent review! Well thought-out and reasoned. Objective and detailed. Congratulations.

    I’m very much inclined to go with the 2004 version and for pretty much the same reasons of historical accuracy, acting comparisons and so on. I found Carter Burwell’s score very moving indeed – I bought the soundtrack CD and find it to be good driving music in the car!

  4. Great article and review. I have to say that I love both movies they were both great films but my favorite is John Wayne’s version only because I saw it when I was 16
    and I was highly impressionable. I could watch that battle scene forever. Although I do like Hancock’s version because of its accuracy and Billy Bob Thorton’s portrayal of Davey Crockett.

  5. I must say I find it hard to believe that someone could like both of these movies. One has an accurate story ( more or less), correct wardrobe, believable dialog and a performance for the ages with Billy Bob Thornton as DC. The other has a giant Mexican cannon, some kind of machine gun in Bowie’s hands, an English Travis, Crockett in cowboy clothes and dewy eyed blather about freedom from the mouths of slave-mongers. Good score though. Anyway, I enjoyed the comparison. Good job.

Leave a Reply

