11 comments on “Joe’s Angle: Rangers Need to Take Step in Right Direction

  1. While I agree with most of your analysis, I have to say that Kovalchuk is probably not the answer to all the Rangers woes. Yes, he is a prolific scorer – but I don’t think the Rangers need another offensive-only player. He lacks ability in the defensive zone, and that’s just not gonna fly on a team that needs solid two-way play.

    The Rangers more pressing need – in my opinion – is a solid center who can get the puck to Gaborik. I know center isn’t terribly deep this year, but I would not want to see the Rangers blow the bank on another defensive liability.

    Don’t get me wrong, I love Kovalchuk – but I think the Rangers need to focus their offseason on different pieces. Adding some secondary scoring and a legitimate center would go a long way in helping the team.

  2. Gaborik had 86 points last season playing with a mish mash of talent. I do not think spending big money on a center would improve his numbers much. I even think they could hurt them. Gaborik is Gaborik he does not need a true number 1 to put the puck in the net.

  3. The Rangers will be able to move Redden. Funniest thing I’ve heard all day. Redden is like the Gulf oil spill. It just keeps getting worse and worse and it just goes nowhere.

  4. I disagree whole-heartedly on the Kovy signing. He’s a selfihs player… also, your analogy of Carter/Richards, Towes/Kane, Malkin/Crosby (hell, even Ovie/Backstrom for instance) is accurate, but the problem with Gabby/Kovy is that NEITHER of them is a center… duh. Jesus… – G

  5. I didn’t say big money, I said solid (i.e. consistent). They’re not necessarily the same thing. Maybe Christensen is enough – he very well could be the Rangers top center next year.

    But that doesn’t change the fact that adding one big scorer to the top line does not add secondary scoring to the second and third lines. Don’t tell me you’re going to bring in Kovy and play him on the second line. No way.

    The Rangers need to address the scoring beyond Gaborik – and that’s not going to happen with a single player. It’s going to require Dubinsky, Callahan, and Anisimov all stepping up their games, plus the addition of one or two complementary players.

    Gaborik could finish next season with 50 points for all I care – individual numbers mean nothing. It’s the wins that count, and it’s clear that a good top line is not enough to generate the wins needed for a playoff spot.

  6. Pingback: Joe’s Angle: A Look at a Projected, Cap-Friendly Rangers Lineup « From New York to San Francisco

  7. I think contemplating where to put Gaborik and Kovalchuk would be a good thing to have. I guess you Ranger fans would just like to have false hope into think Dubi, Cally, and Anisimov would somehow be 35 goal scorers.

    • Would you really pay Kovalchuk big money to play on the second line? There’s no denying his offensive skill, but do the Rangers really need another defensive liability?

      I’m not saying Dubinsky, Callahan, and Anisimov are going to be 35 goal scorers. That’s the point. The Rangers just need balanced scoring from all 3 lines. That doesn’t mean superstar numbers, just production.

      I guess I’m just the minority of Rangers fans.

  8. @Joe- while you may be right about adding someone that might hurt his numbers but the problem with your point is that the rangers shouldnt care only about individual stats when they miss the playoffs. gab should feel the same way and he shouldnt care if they bring in a center that might hurt his numbers if it helps the team actually make the playoffs. gab might not need a true center to put it in the net, but the team does. you cant be a good organization with one person scoring all of your goals, it just doesnt work. while all the other people may call kovy selfish, he had more than doubled the amount of assists than goals while in nj.

Leave a Reply

