Attention Film Lovers: Major Criterion Collection Sale at B&N

About two hours ago I received an email from Barnes and Noble announcing a major sale of all Criterion Collection DVD’s; a whopping 50% off. I swear by movies released by this company, because they put forth a superior product, and dedicate themselves to the preservation and restoration of films as an art form.

Criterion DVDs are also very expensive, meaning that I do not often by them. Out of the hundreds of films I own, I have only two from this company: Pier Paolo Pasolini’s shocking Salo: or the 120 Days of Sodom, and Terry Gilliam’s dystopian comedy Brazil. But today, I got so excited after getting this email that I ran to the store and bought two more (and will no-doubt be back again).

Though made in 1932, Dreyer’s film was a visionary work of horror.

The two films I had been wanting to buy for the last few months were very pricey, but this sale put a dent in that. So I picked up Carl Theodore Dryer’s Vampyr and my recently reviewed Che. Even with the 50% off they still came to more than what I would normally spend on a DVD, but they cannot be bought anywhere else for cheaper, so I consider it a wise investment.

The sale will continue now through August 2, and I highly suggest you take a trip to your local Barnes and Noble and check out their foreign or Art House sections to find terrific films at the best price they will ever be sold at.

Leave a Reply

