Bleacher Report: Good Bye, and Good Riddance

For three years I have left and came back to Bleacher Report more times than Brett Favre, but what could I say? It was exposure and I needed to get my name out there. But over the last several days there have been a couple of blog posts from different outlets ripping into BR with a burning passion. It was then that I realized that even though there are potentially thousands of readers out there, attaching my name to a site like Bleacher Report could do more harm than good. Let’s face it; one needs no talent to write on that site. Any clown can just go right ahead and register, and start cranking out articles and think they are a journalist. Granted, anyone can have their own blog like this one, but when you surround yourself with idiots, therein lies the difference.

I gave it lots of thought, but then this gem of sports writing regarding the Rangers sealed the deal. In this brilliant piece of asinine crap, the author writes perhaps what is the dumbest “thing” I have ever seen in quite some time. I cannot even put into words how awful this is, and this is just a microcosm of the site as a whole. I wanted to read the entire piece, honestly, but I had to stop after he suggested that Artem Anisimov may be a 90-100 point player. Good riddance!

Don’t get me wrong, I met a lot of great people over the last three years there and I do not entirely regret signing up. BR is great for finding your knack and getting into your rhythm, but after that, it’s time to go. The three years I spent there are probably two years too many, and with my last post there coming a week ago, I decided it is time to stop cross-posting there and run for dear life.

I also want to thank my readers here, as we are now averaging more than 200 hits per day and there is no need for any more exposure. The traffic will come in on its own. Many may think this is unprofessional, but I find it highly appropriate and a lot more dignified than what they deserve. The people that run the place have made no effort to give the site credibility, despite its “deals” with CBS and FOX. The writers can’t write, the editors can’t edit, and the readers buy into the garbage.

19 thoughts on “Bleacher Report: Good Bye, and Good Riddance

  1. Bravo Greg for seeing the light as Bleacher Report is not a credible sight for any kind of New York Ranger news. Writers who do not know anything about what they put out do more damage to blogger credibility among real writers.

    They do Ranger fans a huge disservice when they post stuff that they clearly have no idea about what they are trying to pass off as real reporting.

  2. I’ve too seen the insults and seen their reasoning, but for now, opportunities to take my writing elsewhere are a’lacking (except for invites to BR wannabe sites, which are a’plenty). I have a blog and write on several others but for now, BR easily outgenerates the exposure that all of those create combined. Nice blog you have going here, though, Greg, and good luck finding a place where you can get exposure without using a site with a deadly repuation.

  3. Bravo Mr. Caggiano, you have finally seen that Bleacher Report is a haven for unknowledgeable Sports Fans. And you must remember, that’s all they are… Sports Fans, not Sports Writers. Great piece and I hope many people read it.

  4. When I first left BR I was almost angry at the mess the Rangers section was in. A team with such a history should have good writers writing for them, but there was no one. I came back several times and tried my best (some will argue that I’m no good either, which is fine) but now I’ve had it. It is un-fixable.

  5. Mike Salerno

    Greg, I am happy to hear you’ve joined myself and Frank Castaldi in the Former NYR B/R Featured Columnists Club. I’ve been saying it for years myself, the site is journalistic prostitution. I wish you all the luck in the world in finding a gig that will PAY you for writing for the Rangers, or sports in general.

    …Unless I’m trying to get it too. haha

  6. Pingback: How Bleacher Report Ruined a Friend’s Chances to Interview Gary Bettman « From New York to San Francisco

  7. Pingback: With New Associated Content Program, Yahoo is Turning Into Bleacher Report « From New York to San Francisco

  8. Pingback: A Look At Why Bleacher Report Is An Absolute Travesty « Mike Scioscia's tragic illness

  9. Pingback: Rebuttal: The Top Five Reasons to Write for Bleacher Report « From New York to San Francisco

  10. ROBERT MEANS

    I do not know the merits of Bleacher on most areas of sports but on college football their writers are poorly prepared as Journalist and writers. The administration of this site by Dave Morrison is horrible. They play favorites (e.g. USC and the PAC 12 and are biased against their two biggest readership groups in the Big 10 and the SEC. If anyone thinks this company can go public without great liabilities those investors will be sadly mistaken.

  11. I’m a Bleacher Report columnist and I understand your complaints as far as the writers not being top quality writers, but you have to keep in mind that the site is set up for what you are talking about. The site is a place where inspiring sports writers can have a foundation. Some are good, others are not. Either way, it provides a platform for those who otherwise would have none. It’s short-sighted to compare Bleacher writers with ESPN or NFL writers; those sites look at their writers through entirely different lenses. You should too.

    By the way, if you’re clumping me in with the “bad” writers, here’s a few of my articles:

    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/935554-veterans-day-a-tribute-to-the-26-nfl-players-who-died-defending-our-country

    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/934428-penn-state-cover-up-should-mean-criminal-charges-for-all-involved

    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/863153-ohio-state-buckeyes-have-they-done-enough-to-avoid-ncaa-sanctions

    I’d be interested to know how you, or your other readers, felt about my work, especially because I come from a site that you frown upon.

  12. I literally quit B/R’s featured columnist program just a few hours ago, and I couldn’t agree more with this. I was an FC for their LA Lakers section, and it was complete and total bastardization.

    The content they had me write about was completely nonsensical, and I gave them halfhearted work a lot of the times. And their “incentive” system? Please! It was no better than an elementary school fundraiser; I’m sure if I’d have written a few more articles, I would have gotten a pizza party for me and my friends!

    The point is this: if you call yourself a respected journalist, stay far away from this farce. To sign up to work for these nutjobs is career suicide. Bleacher Report is a clear example of professional exploitation.

Leave a Reply

