New York Rangers Unveil Anniversary Third Jerseys Today

Although they were technically unveiled more than a month ago on Sean Avery’s blog, a post that disappeared shortly after, the New York Rangers officially unveiled their third jerseys for this current season, one that pays homage to the team’s 85th anniversary, today. Though I was initially opposed to the idea of a new jersey, as I saw them as merely a chance to make more revenue, I actually like the design and idea behind it, as the picture on Avery’s blog did not have great quality—it did not do these justice.

I still think to buy one of these jerseys will be a waste, since the money is going right into the Dolans’ pockets, and they will become obsolete after this season, because they are only being used in this, their 85th year in existence as a franchise. (As far as I know, at least. I have not heard anything mentioned about these for future seasons, although all it would take to use these again would simply be removing the anniversary patch on the shoulders.)

Nevertheless, here they are, in all their vintage glory:

Not only do I love the dark navy blue coloring, the color of the team’s original jerseys, and the retro style lettering, but also the nice little gesture at the bottom of including all of the franchise’s retired numbers. I don’t think I have ever seen something like that on a jersey before, in any sport. And if you look closely at the back of the collar, the words, “Established in 1926” can be read.

I don’t think I will be buying one of these anytime soon, unless I learn they will be used in the coming seasons, but they definitely are sharp. The one thing I was worried about was that they would be too gimmicky, but I think these are just right—simple, and very traditional.

Photo credit: NHL.com/MSG Photos

Leave a Reply

