Site News: Upcoming Interview with Author Jeff Shaara

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the latest installment of the Gods and Generals Director’s Cut fanfare as I have been in contact with the author of the novel which the film was based, Jeff Shaara. He has kindly agreed to do an interview with me and we will be speaking on the phone Monday afternoon. Mr. Shaara is the author of several books including the prequel and sequel (both of which reached the New York Times Bestseller list for a combined 28 weeks) to his father Michael’s Pulitzer Prize winning novel, The Killer Angels, which also includes The Last Full Measure. He is also an accomplished author of other American war novels, including one on the Mexican-American War, two on the American Revolution, one on World War I, and a World War II trilogy. There is also a rumor that he plans on writing another Civil War trilogy on the Western Theater of the war, and I will definitely ask him about that.

If any of my readers have any questions they would like me to ask Mr. Shaara, please leave them in a comment here or email me, and I will pose them to him along with my own questions if time allows. This interview will be more about his career, method, and interest in the Civil War, and less about the film.

5 thoughts on “Site News: Upcoming Interview with Author Jeff Shaara

  1. sdvp

    I’m looking forward to your interview with Jeff. He’s really one of the best authors of our time. A question I have that you might ask; does he ever plan to write any novels not dealing with a war? All of his books so far have focused on that, not that I have a problem at all with them. Has he considered doing historical fiction on other parts of American history? Please tell him how much his work is appreciated and to keep it up!
    ~Andy

  2. Chuck

    I’d be interested in finding out what Shaara knows about the release of the director’s cut on DVD. I’ve e-mailed him in the past and he said it’s not his call.

      1. Steve Hancock

        When I asked him about it, Shaara said Warner Bros. just was not interested in another release of the film whatsoever.

  3. Terry S Burnside

    I just finished “Blaze of Glory”, and was pleased to be able to read about a part of the Civil War not set in East, not about Robert E. Lee or Stonewall Jackson. I’ve read a number of Shaara books, father and son, and have enjoyed them all. Really looking forward to reading the Vicksburg story. The WWII books look interesting. My father fought in the Pacific theater. I understand the imperative of victory in Europe, but the struggle in the Pacific was essential in the war effort also. Based on that I am looking forward to reading the last book. Thanks for you work.
    btw – I am a Tallahassean also and attended FSU in the late 60s. I do have a questionably famous ( infamous ? ) Civil War relative. Ambrose E. Burnside, the merchant general and commander of the Armies of the Potomac for a short period.

Leave a Reply

