The Day I Have Been Waiting Eight Years For Has Arrived

Like most of you, I thought the culmination of our eight year wait to see the Gods and Generals Extended Director’s Cut was going to happen on May 24th. Fortunately, the good folks at Warner Brothers, namely Bridget Groller, who I must thank from the bottom of my heart for giving me this opportunity, have allowed for that day to come two weeks sooner. If you have not read about the partnership with WB, please click here. I never thought the two films would arrive this quickly, but they sent them on overnight shipping so I would have them with plenty of time to spare.

The funny thing is, I just got home from teaching two lessons at the local high school on the battle of Antietam, and made sure to let the students know that this film would be coming out in two weeks and to check it out if interested; lo and behold, the battle I just finished discussing will be able to be viewed, for the first time, since it was newly added to the cut, along with the highly anticipated John Wilkes Booth subplot.

I will try to watch G & G today and get the review up by the weekend. Gettysburg will follow as well. Either way, they will be done before the release date, so I will have plenty of time to wet your already dripping appetites. For now, as part of our partnership, I must pass along this information. I’m sure you have all read it already if you have been following, but if not, give it a read and don’t forget to share it with anyone who loves the Civil War or American history!

Please visit the official website for the releases, located at CivilWarMovies150. Also check out these deleted scenes that will be featured in the upcoming releases. Gettysburg: “The Town”, and “Tactics”. Gods and Generals: “Troops Get Order”, and “Union Band”. And of course, there is the official trailer.

Synopsis:

Gods and Generals Extended Director’s Cut and Gettysburg Director’s Cut will be released May 24 from Warner Home Video in 2-disc, 48-page Blu-ray Book versions packaged with photographs, bios, timeline, production notes, maps, and more. They arrive in a double-wide gift box as a Limited Collector’s Edition on July 4

Gods and Generals Extended Director’s Cutis director Ron Maxwell’s newly re-edited 4-hour- 40-minute version, with one hour of new footage added, including amplified scenes and new subplot, never-before-seen footage and new bonus features.

Reedited from beginning to end with expanded scenes and an added subplot, this all-new 2-Disc Extended Director’s Cut- a prequel to Maxwell’s companion film, Gettysburg- restores his original vision of the fierce allegiances and combat during the early American Civil War.

Special Features* and Details:

  • Commentary with Ron Maxwell, Keith Gibson and Professor James Robertson
  • Extended Cut Commentary with Maxwell, Gibson and Robertson (NEW)
  • Introduction by Ted Turner and Ron Maxwell (NEW)
  • Gods & Generals: Journey to the Past
  • The Life of Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson
  • The Authenticities of the Film
  • Cross the Green Mountain – Music Video by Bob Dylan
  • Ron Maxwell’s Invitation to Take the Journey Through Hallowed Ground (NEW)
  • Run Time: 280 minutes
  • Rated: PG-13

  Price: $34.99 SRP

Gettysburg: Directors Cut is Maxwell’s acclaimed film about the legendary 3-day battle and will be available for the first time on Blu-ray, featuring 17 minutes of compelling additional footage. Filmed at actual battle locations and full of authentic details, this rousing and soulful movie plunges the viewer into the bloodiest battle fought on American soil. History comes alive with intense and spirited battles and the dilemmas, motivations and fears of the leaders. Tom Berenger (Inception), Jeff Daniels, Martin Sheen (TV’s “West Wing”) and Stephen Lang star in this gripping film based on Michael Shaara’s Pulitzer-Prize-winning book, “The Killer Angels.”

Special Features and details:

 Commentary by Ronald F. Maxwell, Kees Van Oostrum, James M. McPherson, and Craig

Symonds

  • The Making of Gettysburg, Narrated by Martin Sheen
  • The Battle of Gettysburg, Narrated by Leslie Nielson
  • On Location
  • Maps of the Battlefield
  • Ron Maxwell’s Invitation to Take the Journey Through Hallowed Ground (NEW)
  • Run Time: 271 minutes
  • Not Rated
  • Price: $34.99 SRP

Like I said, I will try to have at least one review up by the weekend, maybe even sooner. I am really excited about this, as you can imagine, but just think, you will be experiencing this same feeling in two weeks. Just stay patient!

14 thoughts on “The Day I Have Been Waiting Eight Years For Has Arrived

  1. Chris

    I have to say that I’m almost as jealous as I am happy for you!! 😛 Its fantastic that WB is letting you in on the early screenings of these films! You’ve done so much to spread the word of these films that you deserve it more then anyone else. On that note, I want to thank you for all the coverage you’ve given. Truth be told, I’d given up on these films ever being released, so when I found your site and the rumours it reported (at the time you had just finished your interview with Brian Mallon) I was ecastic! Thank you for all of the work you’ve put into spreading the word and I can’t wait to read the review!

    1. Thank you very much and it was my pleasure! I am blessed to have met so many great and interesting people over these last few months, both in interviews and just chatter here on the site.

  2. danny

    I can not wait to see both of the films .. I was an extra in the film Gods and Generals and was in the antietam scene so very excited to see it …

  3. Greg you are one fortunate guy to have an opportunity like this. Congrats! I look forward to your review and actually getting my own copies here in the next few weeks!

  4. Hi Greg,

    I just wanted to say that I get a real kick out of reading your reviews. I’m not sure how old you were when you saw Gettysburg (the film you say that had the biggest influence on you), but I was 15 in 1994 when a 70mm print of “Gettysburg” arrived in Brisbane, Australia.

    I went off to see it one Saturday, and I distinctly remember going in to the cinema at 11.30 in the morning and emerging at 4.10pm in the afternoon … and during those 4 1/2 hours, my life had changed.

    I knew very little about the Civil War – the first time I saw it, it took me an hour and a half to work out who was North and who was South. But something about the character of the men, the “gentlemen soldiers” approach that the film took, spoke to me. By the 4th hour, during Pickett’s charge, I was almost in tears.

    It was the first time that I really remember a piece of cinema rising above the level of entertainment to become a great story. Certainly, it is the yardstick by which I measure most other films (sadly not a lot match up).

    I went back to see the film three times during the next month at the cinema, just taking in more details. I rented it out religiously every year on VHS until *finally* they brought it out on home video to buy. Then I paid a $100 on eBay to get the Director’s Cut on VHS. Then I bought it on DVD.

    But this version of “Gettysburg” and “Gods and Generals” looks like the one to keep. So from the other side of the world – thank you for sharing with us all the info on a couple of America’s greatest war films. Can’t wait to get them myself.

    Cheers,

    Matt

    1. Good comment, I enjoyed reading it. I believe I was 7 or 8 when I first watched it. I am going to elaborate more in my review of the DC coming today or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

