One of the Most Beautiful Pieces of Music You Will Ever Hear

Usually I never make a post this late, but I could not wait any longer for this. I am in the middle of watching the Dances with Wolves Extended Cut on Blu Ray (many forget that it is actually a Civil War movie in the beginning) and I love John Barry’s soundtrack so much that I was looking for it on YouTube. It was then that I stumbled upon this variation of the main theme, performed by the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards, which combined orchestral and bagpipe melodies. I think what you are about to hear will blow your mind with amazement:

I have always been a fan of bagpipes, though I rarely listen to them, largely in part to my grandfather, who died when I was only one year old. He was a big fan of two things in life: war movies, and bagpipes. There is a crate of his old records sitting right beside me in my computer room, and every time I hear a bagpipe tune, or any variation of his favorite song “Amazing Grace”, I cannot help but feel that he is with me in some way. Please enjoy this fantastic piece of music, and have a great evening.

I highly recommend this film to everyone, both the original and extended cut, which is about fifty-five minutes longer. Not many movies can take you through so many feelings, which include excitement, happiness, humor, and finally, sadness. The music is a big part of that, and of course, it features a terrific cast of Kevin Costner, Graham Greene, Mary McDonnell, and Wes Studi.

Leave a Reply

