Site News: Will Be Covering the “Gods and Generals” Manassas Premiere

This has really been a hectic few hours—I went from setting up interviews and following up with directors Ron Maxwell and Robert Child to finding out that I will actually be attending the world premiere of the Gods and Generals Extended Director’s Cut at the Hylton Performing Arts Center in Manassas, Virginia. This highly anticipated event will include a panel discussion between Maxwell and actors Robert Duvall, Jeff Daniels, and Stephen Lang on July 22, before the actual film showing the next night. The best part about all of this? My attendance will be arranged by Maxwell himself, who upon finding out that I was unable to attend, told me that if I can find away to get down there, he would get me a ticket for myself and a friend, who will help me blog about the event. Maxwell also told me that he will make sure I can interview the actors as well. I cannot say how thrilled I am of this opportunity.

Even if for some reason I cannot get to speak to the actors in the confusion of the evening, I still would love to get pictures with Maxwell along with Brian Mallon and Patrick Gorman, two actors who have been very good to me in giving me interviews and information. Jeff Huber, a friend of mine who is a college history professor, and who you have met through our historical research work, will be with me to cover the event. I hope to blog about my experiences nightly from the hotel in a journal-type format.

All in all, I was shocked, not only by what has transpired, but that I was actually able to book a hotel room in a town that is going to be swamped with tens of thousands of people. My dad has booked them though Hilton Honors, which we have never really had much use for. Jeff also has a friend who works for a hotel in the area and might be able to get us cheaper rooms, but we will use this as a safety net. I still can’t believe this is actually happening. I do have a fear of being starstruck, should I be in a room surrounded by so many great actors, but I think I can maintain composure…and pray I will maintain enough professionalism to not ask for an autograph.

Sincerely,

Greg Caggiano

P.S: I know there are a lot of reenactors/enthusiasts who read this site that will be in Manassas for the reenactment and/or film event. If you would like to meet up, I will be getting there on the 21st, to give myself a day to settle in and check out the surroundings. There will also be plenty of time before the panel on the 22nd. Please let me know, and we can arrange a visit and finally get a chance to put face to pen, err…keyboard!

4 thoughts on “Site News: Will Be Covering the “Gods and Generals” Manassas Premiere

  1. Pingback: An Interview with Director Ron Maxwell « From New York to San Francisco

  2. I’m so jealous! That’s awesome man! Congrats! I FINALLY watched the director’s cuts of G&G and it’s a marked improvement. I loved it. Great work on this site, again. I’m going to apply for Ph.D.s this fall and am at work on an academic paper for the application process: The Killers Angels and Henry V. Thought you might appreciate that. And congrats on the Civil War class!

  3. Pingback: Two Civil War Movies You Need to Add to Your Collection « From New York to San Francisco

Leave a Reply

