Blogging Manassas (Vol. 1): Preparation for the Event

This will be the new series I had mentioned previously; sort of like my online journal with the goings-on of my trip to Virginia next week. Unfortunately, I could not come up with something more creative than “Blogging Manassas”.

As you all know, I will be heading to Manassas, Virginia next week, thanks to director Ron Maxwell, who will be giving me press credentials for the World Premiere of the Gods and Generals Extended Director’s Cut, and the actor’s panel that is taking place beforehand, both at the Hylton Performing Arts Center. Miraculously, I was able to secure a hotel room for two nights, and will be staying July 21st and 22nd. There was some confusion on my part, that I mistakenly wrote about in my last article. Originally, I thought the panel was going to be Friday and the premiere on Saturday. However, the Saturday showing is going to be an encore performance, while the actual premiere is taking place an hour after the panel. So basically, I will be at the theater for about ten hours on Friday, because as members of the press, we have to check in by 1pm. The panel then begins at 3pm, with an hour-long break starting at 4pm, and then the movie itself will show from 5-10pm.

After looking at some pictures of this Arts Center,  it has a very stylish and modern look, and I am eager to get in there and snap some pictures. I have no idea what access the press will be given, and even though Ron mentioned I can interview the cast, the amount of people there may make it difficult. Regardless of what happens journalism-wise, I am just happy to be in attendance. As of June 30th (according to Ron’s Twitter page), the confirmed actor panelists were Robert Duvall, Mira Sorvino, Bruce Boxleitner, and Kevin Conway. I also just spoke to my first interviewee via email, Brian Mallon, who played General Winfield Scott Hancock in both of Maxwell’s films, and he says he will be there as well. This is some of what he sent me, after I had asked if he was going to be there:

“…I read [your] interview with Ron. Very good. I check in to your site now and again. Great stuff. I will be down in Manassas for the Premiere, which should be fun…I’m looking forward to meeting you. Those were great pics of you as a kid on the battlefields. Hard to believe so much time has passed since that “Gettysburg” filming. Ron is a good guy to know, and he doesn’t forget people. Anyway, should be a fun weekend. See ya there!”

Yes Brian, it is hard to believe that eighteen years have passed since Gettysburg was made. I am also very happy to hear that he checks out this site. It means a lot to all people who blog to have recurring readers, but it is a really special feeling when that person is an actor and someone who was interviewed. If you check out the main page of his website, you will find that he has linked our interview there, and according to my data feed, it has really brought in a lot of traffic.

There is a lot that needs to be done in the three days I will be in Manassas. I am going to try my best to get interviews, however brief they may be, as I am bringing a digital tape recorder (if I can figure out how to work it). I hope to have a laptop with me to blog nightly, or perhaps the hotel will have one for use in the lobby like many do now. Worst comes to worst, if I cannot do it that night, I will put everything up as soon as I get home. All that is left to do is  to map out this vacation, as I am not familiar with the area. If anyone has any suggestions for some good restaurants, please drop me a line in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

