The “Gods and Generals” Blogging Experience by the Numb3r

After sitting here for a while, and thinking back in retrospect at how wonderful this journey has been, I actually went into my WordPress data dashboard and counted, one by one, the amount of articles I have written regarding both Gods and Generals and Gettysburg. I was actually surprised to see how many the total came to, because I did not think it was that many. All in all, since November 12, I have written 37 articles, which have accounted for 17,966 visitors, not including today or this here article. This number makes me feel great for two reasons: 1) Every hit means something, because as writers, everything we write is done for a reason, and every read, no matter how many, lets us know that we did not waste our time in doing something we love. 2) It shows the interest is out there for both these two great movies, and the Civil War in general.

It all started by accident on that November day, when I stumbled upon an IMDB rumor. It was unconfirmed and could have been made up out of thin air, for all I knew. This message board post detailed a possible long-awaited release of the G & G director’s cut. Over the years, there have been a few such rumors, n0ne bearing any fruit, but this one was different, and I ran with it.  Next thing you know, I am interviewing Brian Mallon, and a slew of others, “breaking” the news. I have never considered myself a journalist, and as you all know, I do not want this for a career, but some how, some way, this thing found me. The journey will most likely end next weekend, when I return from covering the world premiere in Manassas, but it has been a hell of a ride. The reason I am writing this is not to gloat, it is just to bring up past interviews and opinion pieces in case new readers on here have not had the chance to read them. Each interview has brought something special by those kind enough to allow me to talk to them. The other reason I bring this up is because I would like my site to achieve a small milestone in the coming days. Read totals have never meant much to me, nor have milestones, but the one coming up is pretty ironic; should this blog get 1849 hits by Thursday, we will have reached 150,000 total reads on the 150th anniversary of the First Battle of Bull Run. I think that is pretty cool, and I think we will accomplish it even sooner than July 21.

And here is a little bit of trivia: the Mallon interview technically broke the news of the director’s cut, because it confirmed the rumor and finally people started to take it seriously. A few weeks later, when I followed up with Brian, he had told me that he was not supposed to have said anything about it, but Ron Maxwell had read the interview and said it was fine. Whoops!

Below are the interviews I have conducted related to the two films, and some opinion essays. Please read them to get some additional background, and a behind-the-scenes look at what went on to make these two movies possible!

Cast Interviews

Brian Mallon (Maj. Gen. Winfield Scott Hancock)

Bo Brinkman (Maj. Walter Taylor)

Patrick Gorman (Brig. Gen. John Bell Hood)

Les Kinsolving (Brig. Gen. William Barksdale)

Crew Interviews

Jeff Shaara (Author of Gods and Generals)

Ben Kullman (Extra; member of the “core reenactors”)

Ron Maxwell (Director)

Opinion

Making the Case for Richard Jordan’s Oscar Worthy Performance in “Gettysburg”

“Gods and Generals” Countdown: Your Favorite Scene!

Movie Review: The Extended Director’s Cut of “Gods and Generals”

Movie Review: The Director’s Cut of “Gettysburg”

Civil War Journal: An Essay by Ron Maxwell

The Importance of the John Wilkes Booth Character in the New-Look “G & G”

Leave a Reply

