Introducing My New Blog: “History Watchdog”

th

First things first, no, I am not ceasing my activity here on this blog. Unfortunately, I have not had the time to write as much as I would like to, but schoolwork, my two jobs, and working on several other projects that are going absolutely nowhere has really hampered my activity here. Every summer, I am usually posting the same complaint: there is just nothing to write about. Even if I still covered hockey on a regular basis, there would be nothing worthy to note here. Civil War movie production is in a little bit of a downturn, as since Copperhead has now hit theaters and On-Demand to great reviews from people like you and me, but awful ones from the “real” critics, I have now come to the realization that I will most likely never be able to provide such coverage of a single film like that ever again, at least not unofficially from the sidelines as a “fan”. There just are not enough hours in the day, and when there are, there aren’t enough days in a week. It is because of this that I wanted to go in a slightly different direction with my writing. Over the years, this blog has become the go-to for everything Civil War-related in the media, and now because of my scathing reviews of several television documentaries, people with interests in all different topics are checking this place out. Because FNYSTF has always been a potpourri of subjects, as varied as they may be, I do not want this to become littered with only my thoughts on documentaries and historical flicks. That is where History Watchdog comes in, a new blog devoted entirely to that medium.

That blog will basically be the outlet of my thoughts on all history projects, be it feature films or documentaries, both old and new. I have even created a special rating system for them, which is an average based on three categories. Only three productions have been reviewed so far, all documentaries, but as I branch into film (including familiars such as Gods and Generals, Gettysburg, and a film I love to rip, Revolution) the system will change slightly to be more appropriate. The first few days have garnered History Watchdog a good number of followers; more, actually, than this blog did early on. I invite you all to check it out and help me to spread the word. I think there needs to be someone out there keeping tabs on movies and shows that are supposed to have some educational value to them, and hopefully, my new blog will be it.

View History Watchdog by clicking here!

Leave a Reply

