Video Rant: The Civil War According to a Standard US History Textbook

Yes. Someone has actually taken the time to write a book about the theme presented in the video below.
Yes. Someone has actually taken the time to write a book about the theme presented in the video below.

I’ve wanted to do this for a long time. There are also a lot of people who have wanted me to do this for a long time. This afternoon, on a whim, I decided to finally go through an American History textbook and pick apart everything it had to say regarding the Civil War. While there were some facts and items strewn throughout that I liked or thought were fair, the overwhelming feeling I have for this book is one of disappointment. This is a standard middle school-level social studies textbook, used throughout the state of New Jersey and the northeastern United States. All historians understand that most textbooks are full of inaccuracies, exaggerations, and sometimes, flat-out lies. In an unrehearsed fashion, I decided to film my meandering through this book, which is open for criticism like every other literary work or piece of media available to the general public. I thought a video would be more entertaining than me just writing about it. It was very hard to keep this at a PG-13 level, but yay for me, I held back and focused on the content. Please enjoy this little rant:

One thought on “Video Rant: The Civil War According to a Standard US History Textbook

  1. Robert

    While you are entitled to your opinion, after viewing this video and reading some older posts you wrote, I am curious as to where you received your information regarding the Emancipation Proclamation not freeing any slaves? Based on everything I have read, including works by such noted historians as James M. McPherson and Eric Foner, that idea about Lincoln’s proclamation is a major misconception. While it certainly didn’t all the slaves, to say it did not free a single slave is misleading. What about the slaves who fled to Union lines after the proclamation was issued? Also, I wonder if you were aware of areas of the Confederacy occupied by Union troops that were not exempt from the Emancipation Proclamation, such as the Sea Islands off the coast of South Carolina. If these slaves were not freed, then how do you explain the first hand accounts of them celebrating their freedom after hearing news of the Proclamation? If you’re interested, a good book I can recommend is “The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and Slavery” by Eric Foner.

Leave a Reply

