Upcoming Food/Restaurant Reviews & My Manifesto

Though I haven’t done it in a while, I like to write about food, drinks, and restaurants I visit. I am not a “Foodie”—I despise that term, and the whole self-indulgent, megalomaniac culture that comes with the people who use that word; people who think they are experts just because they can eat and have a computer to blog on. I am not an expert in anything, nor do I pretend to be. I am a passionate writer, a published author, who loves to eat and drink. Therefore, that means I like to write about my experiences. My favorite “food person” on television is Anthony Bourdain. It would be my dream to one day meet him and pick his brain, and maybe have a beer with him. I love his no-nonsense, no frills approach to TV and the way he describes food. He’s not pretentious when he describes something. He simply says if he likes it, and moves on. You can tell by his expression if he is truly enjoying it or not, and that’s enough. That’s how I try to be. His show, whether it be his older ones or current Parts Unknown, is an excellent exposition of food, culture, and history.

I generally detest the Food Network as well, and most other “celebrity” chefs with the exception of Robert Irvine and Restaurant Impossible, and Gordon Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares, which I watch to gain additional insight into the restaurant industry. I loathe Guy Fieri with a burning passion. Everything about him. How he uses the same catchphrases over and over again, and how he is so over-the-top with annoyance that the food is no longer the focal point of his show—he and his stupid hair and mannerisms are. Then you have Rachel Ray with her abbreviations. How about Y.A.R.A, Mrs. E.V.O.O: “You Are Really Annoying”?

This will be a slightly new feature of my blog (I forayed into food write-ups a few years ago for a brief time). The column will be simply titled “Food & Spirits”. I might post about a recent restaurant visit, or maybe a review of a certain place based on cumulative visits over the years. I will also put up some product reviews that will mostly extend to alcoholic libations and liquors that I try, that I feel need to be discussed. Other than that, its very simple. I love to write, and I love to eat, so after many years of doing both, I am now combining them. I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

