Food & Spirits: Reviews Coming From Dallas

4549521523_86e530d206_z

This Saturday, I will be leaving for Dallas, Texas. I had the opportunity to travel with a friend who will be there on business for a few days beginning this weekend. The hotel rates are fantastic given his discount, and the cost of flying was not all that bad, I guess. This will only be the second time I am ever flying on a plane. The last time was 2007, which ironically, was also a trip to Texas, only to visit the Alamo which was a lifelong dream of mine. We will be staying at the Fairmont, which looks like an awesome place. Since I have been reviewing restaurants on here for a few months now, this is just a note saying I will try to review as many places as I can while in Dallas. I would love nothing more than to eat my way across town. I will try my best to document the culinary experience, which will hopefully include lots of beef and good Texas BBQ.

If anyone is reading this post and knows of good places to eat in the city, please leave a comment below this article. I know almost nothing about Dallas; the exact opposite of my trip to San Antonio, since I have friends there who recommended a bunch of terrific places. In looking at some menus and prices online, it seems Dallas is a bit more expensive than what I was expecting. San Antonio, for the most part, offered high quality and huge portions for dirt cheap prices. Yeah, that was eight years ago, but I am told it has not changed all that much since.

So, what are my goals for Dallas? Well, there is only one place I truly need to visit, which is Dealey Plaza and the JFK museum on the sixth and seventh floors of the old Texas School Book Depository. I have long studied the assassination and never really thought I would get to see the location it happened. As a teacher, I get in for the discounted rate of $8.50, down from their normal $16 price of admission, which I think is great. There is also a “Conspiracy Museum” nearby, which might be worth checking out. Apparently, there are some other museums and spots within walking distance of the hotel which we will be sure to explore. There’s also the Fairmont’s rooftop pool (below) which looks like a cool spot to hang out…and maybe have a margarita.

l

All in all, that’s pretty much it. Slightly nervous about the plane ride (its an early morning flight out of Laguardia), but overall, very excited for this little excursion and getaway. Once again, if you have any recommendations, please let me know. That’s all for now. See you in Texas!

Leave a Reply

