Food & Spirits: Is Not Your Father’s Root Beer Worth the Hype?

11836736_10206001941740351_7336194417703009167_n

In short, yes it is. This is the stuff that people are claiming there is a nationwide shortage of. My friend Brett and I went to at least five different liquor stores combined just trying to find a six pack, and our efforts were to no avail. All I keep hearing is how amazing Not Your Father’s Root Beer is, and if you find it and have the chance, you need to stock up on it. I wouldn’t go that far, but it was pretty good. I was pleasantly surprised to see Houlihan’s in Woodbridge had it in stock last week when I walked in and it was on the specials board. I knew right then and there I needed to order it. Upon my first sip, I did the double-take that nearly everyone says happens when you try it for the first time. Is this beer or is it root beer? With each of those initial sips I had to ask myself that question. There is absolutely no beer taste at all, it truly is root beer. The flavoring is very natural, and you can taste the spices coming together as you get a whiff of it before it hits your taste buds.

Read the rest at Greg’s new food blog by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

