1,000 Movies!

vincent-vincent-price-35944932-1080-960

This weekend I finally reached a milestone: 1,000 movies viewed. This is according to my IMDB account where I keep track of the movies I watch by rating and adding them to lists in order to categorize them. I strongly recommend you to try the IMDB list feature. Users make them for all kinds of reasons, either to make public to show people their favorite movies and actors, or just for personal use to keep track. I have been a member for 11 years and have tried my best to think back and add every movie I have ever seen in my life. There’s probably a few I have missed over the years, but for all intents and purposes, I have now see 1,000 movies. Which was the lucky milestone grabber? Sunday’s movie review, The Body Snatcher (1945). Coming in at #999 was Dracula: Prince of Darkness (1966). Below are some factoids about the movies I have seen in my lifetime.

  • Out of 1,000 movies, 258 of them are horror. That is my most-watched genre (other than the generic drama/thriller). There’s also 130 war, 128 history, 117 science fiction, and 90 are westerns. There are 55 John Wayne movies and 27 with Vincent Price. I’m sure there are other actors who rival them in quantity, but since they are my favorites I only bothered to count them.
  • My least-watched genres are music and sports. Not a surprise. Though I love movies about musicians, I despise musicals. I also tend to hate movies about sports even though I play and coach hockey. Yeah, I’m probably the only hockey guy in North America who hasn’t seen Miracle, and I really don’t care.
  • I have rated only 14 movies with 10-stars. While it is hard for me to name a favorite, my top five currently are: The Wild Bunch, Amadeus, The Exorcist, 2001: A Space Odyssey, and Gladiator.
  • Not by design, I have also rated 14 movies with 1-star. The worst I have ever seen in my life is Beast: A Monster Among Men. The worst I’ve ever seen actually made by a legitimate studio and not a bunch of bored stoner friends is Lady in the Water.
Leave a Reply

