More “Gods and Generals” Footage You’ve Never Seen

James Horan as Col. Arthir Cummings in "Gods and Generals" (2003).
James Horan as Col. Arthur Cummings in “Gods and Generals” (2003).

It’s been nearly three years since my last post about Gods and Generals. If you go way back, you may remember my 2011 series when I blogged about the release of the highly anticipated extended director’s cut. This past July was the fifth anniversary of when I was invited to Manassas, Virginia by Warner Brothers to cover the official premiere at the Hylton Performing Arts Center. It was one of the defining moments of my life, and I am proud to call friends a few actors who I watched on-screen since my childhood. Anyway, I have actually stumbled onto some new footage. You’ve probably never seen it. Heck, anyone aside from director Ron Maxwell and those in the editing room probably haven’t seen it. Except for James Horan, who played Col. Arthur Cummings in the First Manassass battle scene. I was looking over some of my old work (I interviewed him in September of 2011; one of many cast and crew members I had the pleasure of speaking to in my blogging adventures) and one thing led to another, and I was on Horan’s website. I started watching a highlight reel of his acting, and lo and behold, there was a clip from Gods and Generals I had never seen before.

It’s a short one. Roughly 17 seconds. It picks up right after Cummings announces the charge for his regiment at Manassas. There he runs toward a gravely injured artillery captain, James Ricketts (played by David Burnett Foster, who I also interviewed) and comforts him against the wheel of a cannon. He calls for a soldier to bring a stretcher and announces that Ricketts is a Mexican War hero. You can watch it here, on Horan’s reel. Just skip ahead to the Gods and Generals footage.

The theatrical cut of the film from 2003 ran 219 minutes, while the 2011 director’s cut release was 280 minutes. Even with all the added footage, we know there were still some scenes left on the cutting room floor for one reason or another. This is one of them. There was also an old extended trailer on YouTube for years (which I can’t seem to locate now) that contained even more unseen footage concerning Brian Mallon’s character of Gen. Winfield Scott Hancock at the battle of Fredericksburg. No one except for die-hard fans will care about this, but I wanted to share it anyway. You can view my complete Gods and Generals archive here.

2 thoughts on “More “Gods and Generals” Footage You’ve Never Seen

  1. Guest

    There were a few minutes from the 219-minute version that Maxwell had trimmed down or edited out when he was compiling the 280-minute version. I wish he hadn’t done that.

    Mallon really got shortchanged in the movie. I guess it was because he didn’t have the name recognition of the actors who played the other three characters in Shaara’s book.

    1. I would definitely agree with the second part of this comment. After reading the novel, I was disappointed to see the other main characters, especially Hancock, have their screen time reduced in favor of increased attention devoted to Stonewall Jackson.

Leave a Reply

