New York Rangers & the No-Goal Call: What Do You Think?

So, for the second straight game, the New York Rangers fall victim to a rule that was apparently made up out of thin air. The first, came the other night against Chicago, when the Blackhawks took two penalties at the same time. Coach Joel Quenville was then given the option to skate down a man for four minutes or down two men for two minutes. He chose the former, of course, like any coach would, but has anyone ever even heard of this rule before, where the offending team is given the option? With the Rangers trailing in the period, it could have made all the difference to have a two-man advantage for a full two minutes. Now, tonight, against the Columbus Blue Jackets, they seem to have scored a goal in the fleeting moments of the second period. Michael Del Zotto cut towards the net with time expiring and shot the puck, and although it did indeed cross the line with .1 seconds remaining (which would have been the second time this season a Ranger player accomplished such a feat), it was ruled in the Toronto “War Room” that there was no time on the clock, and therefore, no goal. I’m not an expert, or maybe I just have poor eyesight, but take a look at the photo below and see for yourself. Was this a goal, yes or no?

Continue reading “New York Rangers & the No-Goal Call: What Do You Think?”