Ridiculous Cigarette Ads: What the Hell Were We Thinking?

As someone who loves history, I could not help but do a focus on an integral part of our American culture that lasted from the 1920’s until the 1980’s, that is tobacco advertising. As a part of this love for history, it also includes making fun of some of the dumb things we have done in the past.

I enjoy smoking a good cigar every now and then, and although I have tried cigarettes in the past, I never quite got the hang of them. That said, out of what I have tried, any non-filtered were my preferred choice. It seems people only started dying of cancer after they put the filters on because of the fiberglass and God knows what else they put inside.

But still, smoking cigarettes is just about the dumbest thing you can do. In this post, we will take a look at some of the most ridiculous ads ever used by tobacco companies so we can ask ourselves, just what the hell were we thinking back then? Just how dumb were we? Find out below.

These cigarettes will help you lose weight. So drop the pounds and add cancer cells. Too bad it didn’t work for the chain-smoking John Candy.

Let’s just go right ahead and cut the gay jokes, for those of you who do not know that cigarettes are called “fags” in England. That aside, this has to be the dumbest thing I have ever seen printed on paper, and this comes from someone who reads the New York Post. Yes, I could get hit by a bus tomorrow. Gee whiz, I better light up then!

Just what I always wanted– a case of cigarettes autographed by a governor who said he would never run for president and ran for president a year later, Ronald Reagan!

Looks like Ronnie is cheating on his Chesterfields.

With a mug like that, I’d punch her too…with or without the cigarettes.

…cause you’ll be dead on the floor.

I must admit, John Wayne can make anything look cool. Too bad he died because of it.

No irritation, just cancer.

Just can’t have one of these articles without a visit from Santa!

This is not a photo-shop.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lester Holt says:

    Well…the Dharma smokes are fake, from a TV show. So…

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.