“Copperhead” to be Filmed at Kings Landing Historical Settlement

A view of one of the many buildings located in the historical settlement where “Copperhead” is to be filmed.

As you know, open extras casting is already underway for Copperhead, which took place yesterday. The location where it was staged is going to be the same place where the movie is to be filmed in May and June (the current expected months of production), which is at the Kings Landing Historical Settlement, in New Brunswick, Canada. Thanks to the website Miramichi Online, we have some more information, which includes the previously posted contact information for the Extras Coordinator. I do not know if they are finished with it, but you might want to contact them anyway. For inquiries and additional information, please email Ree Brennin at ree@redshift.com. There is even a quote from director Ron Maxwell himself, which provides some details on the plot and storyline:

Copperhead is the story of Abner Beech, a stubborn and righteous farmer of Upstate New York , who defies his neighbors and his government in the bloody and contentious autumn of 1862. Copperhead is the great untold Civil War story. Far from the Virginia battlefields whose names etch North American history, the war of Copperhead visits the devastation and unimaginable loss of a civil war upon a family and a community whose strength and very existence are tested by fire, rope, knife, and betrayal. This is the Civil War come home.”

As for the location of the filming, it sure does look like the right fit for an 1860’s era movie. The only negative feedback which I have received thus far has been disappointment in choosing Canada for the spot of the shoot, but to me that does not really matter, so long as they can get it to look like the proper time period and location, which I have no doubts they will achieve, given the track record of the director for his meticulous eye for accuracy.

For more information, please click here to read the original source material and here for the official website of Kings Landing.

Also, click here for the special page I have set up on this blog for the latest information about the film.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. If it wasn’t so far away, I’d be trying my darndest to be a part of it. I hope that it goes well for Mr. Maxwell and the other members of the cast and crew. Godspeed!

    1. It’s a bit far for me too, though a lot closer than you are. Hopefully I’ll be able to visit the set or at least help out in some capacity that is a bit larger than blogging about it from hundreds of miles away. I have so much free time between now and when my job starts up again in the summer, and no college classes until September. Oh well, they know where to find me… 🙂

      1. I’m hoping to be able to visit the set of “To Appomattox” when filming starts, and be able to help out with that production in some capacity. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Production is supposed to start next month sometime.

      2. Me too. It would be really cool! I think they are filming where, in Pennsylvania and South Carolina, or Virginia? Can definitely make it to PA. I’m about four hours from Gettysburg. Maybe a little bit less depending on the never-ending road construction in Pennsylvania LOL.

    2. Wes Mijares says:

      You should go up there! This is a once in a lifetime opportunity!

  2. Sam says:

    I’m a 19 year old lady and I live very close to this, in the town, actually! I’m auditioning as an extra this weekend. They’re still looking for lots of extras!

    1. Yes they are! There is another casting call on Saturday for background extras. Best of luck to you! Make sure to tell us of your experiences when you return! GC

  3. Mary Joslin-Whitehouse says:

    HI, I live in Newfoundland, was told in an email about the movie from an employee at Kingslanding. My ancestors built the Joslin home. I’d love to visit it one day but due to health I have to watch where and how long a travel I make. I sure will watch out for the movie once it is completed and released as my ancestorial home is supposed to be in it. Good luck with making the film and let it be a success. Mary Joslin

  4. Shane says:

    Are still wanting extras for the film?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.